Reflection of Week Three’s Lesson

This week, we discussed the basics of using a camera. Karl stated that there were 3 basic elements of taking a photograph:

  1. Aperture (otherwise known as F-Stop)
  2. Shutter Speed
  3. ISO

Predominately we focused on controlling the aperture. The aperture controls by how much the lens of the camera opens. The more exposed the camera lens is, the more light reaches the image sensor. The F-Stop essential works as an inverse; the higher the F-Stop number, the smaller the lens will open.

The aperture is expressed as an F value. F stands for focal length.

A distinct effect in adjusting the aperture is the amount of the image that is in focus. ‘Depth of Field’ is a well known-term for many photographers. By changing the F-Stop, it essentially focuses on a specific object/part of image, and the rest of the image is unfocused. I have included one of my test shots below:

A Macro, side portrait shot of a male subject. It focuses particularly on his eyes, nose, mouth and partially his beard. The background of the bedroom is blurred, it is possible to make out curtains and a lampshade but it shows no detail.
Focal Length is 34 and F-Stop is 4.5.

The shutter speed controls how much light gets to the sensor by controlling how long the aperture is open. Getting correct exposure is about balancing the shutter speed and F-Stop settings simultaneously.

The ISO measures the sensitivity  of the image sensor. ISO is largely dependant on what you’re shooting, but in general, the following guidelines apply:

  • 100 for good daylight
  • 200 for duller outdoor shooting
  • 400 for indoors with good lights

If the ISO is set too high, the image can display a type of grain which reduces the quality of the overall photograph.

After Karl’s introduction, we took to the streets of Leeds to take photographs and gather stories similar to ‘Humans of New York’. The questions we had to ask were Leeds related in order to compile the class’ images and make them all interlink. I asked questions such as:

  • What’s your favourite memory in Leeds?
  • What have you seen change in Leeds?
  • What brought you to Leeds?
  • Why do you choose to stay here?

I took images and tried to create a depth of field, this was difficult as it was my first time shooting with this camera and the people I was taking photographs of, I’d never met before (nerve-wracking huh?). However, I feel that some photographs are better than others but I took a lot of initiative to start all the conversations with people and selecting people.

I made sure I took into account the information I was taught the previous week in regards to image formatting and ‘tips’. For example, I ensured I only took landscape photographs.

Hover over image for camera settings.

I plan to edit these photographs next week.

My favourite image is of the shop-assistant,  however, I wish I took a variety of images from different angles.

My least favourite photograph is of the boy in the checkered jacket. I think this is very amateur photograph taken from a poor angle and with no creativity around depth of field.

 

Leave a Reply

